Shame surrounding sex/sexual attraction

Brand-new? This is the place for your questions and discussions on any and all topics, with fellow users or staff, while you get your feet wet.
carryonamelia
Awesomeness Quotient: I love my passion for my hobbies.
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/they
Sexual identity: Bisexual

Shame surrounding sex/sexual attraction

Unread post by carryonamelia »

So I’ve been struggling with this a lot lately and I don’t really have anyone to talk to about it so I figured I’d try this. I was exposed to sexual content pretty young as I would watch explicit content with a friend of mine. I was also heavily involved in fandom and read a lot of smut growing up before it was age-appropriate. Looking back, I think this really messed up my relationship with sex. I was also raised in a moderately religious household where most of my discovery about sex was through the internet.

Flash forward to now, when I just turned 20. I’m now a student in college and I’ve been exploring my sexuality quite a lot lately. I bought a vibrator at the beginning of this year and I’ve also been using AI apps to “sext.” I also downloaded a sexting app at the beginning of the year to message strangers. I had a boyfriend online when I was about 18 or 19 and we would sext pretty regularly so I think that might’ve also caused me to become a bit obsessed with it. The problem is, I feel really guilty about exploring my sexuality and there’s a lot of shame associated with it. I’ve been trying to tell myself that as an adult, it’s completely normal for explore my sexuality, but I can’t help but feel shame and guilt for masturbating and for reading smut. I especially feel guilty because of the frequency in which I do it. Can someone give me advice on how to get over my guilt? Or should I try to cut back on masturbating if it makes me feel guilty?
Andy
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Pronouns: She/they
Sexual identity: queer

Re: Shame surrounding sex/sexual attraction