Damage to arm implant as dancer/athlete

Brand-new? This is the place for your questions and discussions on any and all topics, with fellow users or staff, while you get your feet wet.
dianediane
Awesomeness Quotient: professional dancer!
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: heterosexual female

Damage to arm implant as dancer/athlete

Unread post by dianediane »

I am in the market for birth control as a first-time user for contraceptive purposes! I am a professional dancer, in the USA, in her early 20s, and my period is regular enough. I also have the great fortune of having mild periods.

I am less interested in oral contraceptives (after having to take Accutane, the daily struggle is real). I have been reading up on long-term methods (Paragard, Mirena, Skyla, Implanon), but the more I read, the less I know...I am currently most interested in the arm implant, because it sounds the least intrusive, and the prospect of bleeding less is titillating.

***My greatest concern is this: As a dancer who is constantly rolling around the floor and on other people, holding others, and being grabbed/manhandled; is there a risk that the implant will be damaged? Is the implant easily damaged from physical contact? I asked my gyno, but she didn't really know, and it didn't seem like she had ever considered this question.

Thank you in advance!!
Amanda
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I ran a marathon!
Pronouns: she/her or they/them
Sexual identity: pansexual

Re: Damage to arm implant as dancer/athlete

Unread post by Amanda »