My roommate smells bad

Questions and discussions about relationships: girlfriends, boyfriends, lovers, partners, friends, family or other intimate relationships in your lives.
Eveningprimrose
Awesomeness Quotient: I really like reading and learning new things.
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/her
Sexual identity: Lesbian or bi. I’m very unsure.

My roommate smells bad

Unread post by Eveningprimrose »

I'm a Sophomore in college and my roommate is from Nepal. We get along well, have a lot in common, and have had fun learning about each other's cultures. The one issue we have is that she smells bad and are room smells strongly like garlic. I've been very understanding so far and haven't said anything. I've figured that maybe she's not used to the heat here (it's been in the 80s and 90s recently) and that it won't be as bad when the weather cools. I also know that it's highly likely that she's not used to wearing deodorant. However, it's gotten really bad and I'm tired of the smell.

Anyways, I was wondering if anyone has ideas on what to do about it. I open the window every afternoon which helps somewhat. My professor suggested that I start a conversation where I ask if there's anything I do that bothers her. Then I can politely but directly tell her about the issue. That seems like it would work well, but do you have any other thought? I really hate confrontation. Thanks!
Jacob
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Pronouns: They

Re: My roommate smells bad

Unread post by Jacob »

Hey eveningprimrose,

Your professor's suggestion can be a useful way-in to some difficult conversations, but I'd also caution that if the initial question is just a pretext to ask them to wear deodorant, it might come across as underhanded, which could make the rest of the conversation even more difficult.