Odd period symptoms?

Questions and discussions about your bodies and their parts.
sodabutt
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: Proud about how much I love my short hair
Primary language: english
Pronouns: they/them/he
Sexual identity: asexual, demi sexual, bisexual

Odd period symptoms?

Unread post by sodabutt »

So I've been menstruating since I was 12 (about 7 years) and I thought that I had finally started to have consistent symptoms/cycles but recently I've started noticing new stuff. I usually take midol the day before and three days into menstruation, and I feel both of these symptoms despite that.
edit: Also to note, about 8 months ago during my period i suddenly developed a sharp pain outside my normal cramp areas, that was exacerbated whenever i took a breath. This hasn't happened in a while but when it was happening i couldn't walk and had a panic attack about if it was a serious medical issue and had to leave work early. I started noticing these symptoms after that happened.
1. I get an odd sensation in the outer parts of my vagina? Like inner and outer labia and urethra (I know urethra isn't part of the vagina but idk what else to call that area) It all just feels sort of warm and tender, and rubbing it relieves the sensation but it usually comes back, and I obviously don't want to sit around rubbing between my legs all day. Overall, the sensation is noticeable but not nearly as uncomfortable as my pain is. I'm gray-ace and i've never been sexually active with other people, so I've never had a sensation I've recognized as arousal and I'm wondering if thats what this is.

2. Whenever i feel proper cramps, my thighs will hurt as well - like, debilitating, can't walk. I kind of wonder if this related to the above symptom, as i've heard that people can be in pain if theyre in pain and unsatisfied, but it really just feels like pain too.

Are these symptoms normal? is this just how people with vaginas feel when they're aroused? Am I just a little weirdo???