Therapist Advice

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
Digdawg
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I love my pets!
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/her
Sexual identity: Bisexual

Therapist Advice

Unread post by Digdawg »

Hi Scarleteen!

I called a therapist today (yay!) and am currently waiting for her scheduling person to call me back to set up an appointment. I haven’t been to a therapist in years, and my last one was one my mom got for me from 12-16. It’s been a while and this is my first time doing this by myself.

So, to set up some background for why I’m going to a therapist in the first place:
I’ve had anxiety my whole life, specifically health anxiety. I actually started seeing my first therapist for needle anxiety (and I can proudly say that now I can drive myself to the doctor, get a vaccine, and drive home without passing out anymore). I’ve been on antidepressants for a few years and have had some friends and family suggest it may be time to taper down to a low dose because it was affecting my mood and motivation.

So, with the direction of my doctor, we started tapering me off from 15mg to 5mg over a four week period. Two weeks on 10mg, and two on 5mg. First two weeks goes fine, no apparent increase in anxiety. Go down to 5mg: boom, anxious mess. I almost had an anxiety attack back out of a parking spot because I thought I was gonna hit the truck 20 feet behind me. I also had an increase in my anxiety surrounding pregnancy (because of course I have anxiety about this). Even though I use hormonal birth control about as perfectly as you can, and the same goes for condoms and withdrawal. It wasn’t helped when my period just stopped a few days early, probably due to all the stress.