Hymen Issues?

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
cosmo.naught
Awesomeness Quotient: I can play the piano blindfolded
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Pamsexual

Hymen Issues?

Unread post by cosmo.naught »

Hey, it's my first time using this space so sorry if I sound too formal or awkward :)

I'm 17y/o, a virgin, and worried that I might have a microperforate hymen. For those who don't know, that's when they hymen is very thick, very present, difficult to penetrate, and has a hole small enough to let period blood out.

I've looked at myself in a mirror and haven't seen much. Occasionally I can see a small hole, about the size of the head of a pin, where I think the normal sized opening should be. No matter how aroused I am, I can't fit a single finger in. I've never tried tampons, but I'm about to when I get my next period. Will it even fit?? Where will it go?

I have a boyfriend whom I'd quite like to have sex with within the next few months. We're both virgins. I just don't want to reach the moment when we're supposed to have our first time and have nothing happen or have it be excruciatingly painful. I've already planned on asking my mom to see a gynecologist so I can get birth control and some general sex/health advice, but now I'm worried I may need surgery for the issue I think I have with my hymen. Is there a chance my parents could deny it or prevent me from getting an operation?

A lot of my period experiences also line up with a microperforate hymen. I have abdominal pain and cramp for days on end when I get my period, so bad that it can hurt to walk. My periods are unpredictable: My last period was over a week late and the one before that was over two weeks early. I also have periods that are frequently quite long.