Evening primrose oil with Nexplanon?

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
not a newbie
Pronouns: She

Evening primrose oil with Nexplanon?

Unread post by 55 »

Hi there,

I’ve been having a bit of a bad time with Nexplanon as I’ve been bleeding constantly for four months now (alongside regular period pain like cramping- not sure how normal the cramping is but I’m assuming it’s to do with my implant?). I read online that some people had found some success with evening primrose oil for lessening the bleeding. I just wanted to please check that evening primrose oil doesn’t effect the effectiveness of the implant? Was also wondering if iron supplements are also ok to take alongside the implant? As I feel like loosing blood like this can’t be that healthy. Thanks!
Elise
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: bisexual/queer

Re: Evening primrose oil with Nexplanon?

Unread post by Elise »

Hi there Holly55, sorry to hear that you're still experiencing cramping and continued menstruating 4-months into your Nexplanon insertion. Back not last Sunday but the one before, you mentioned that you'd be calling your GP clinic on that following Monday to report this side effect. As Marisha metnioned, whilst there can be a bit of an adjustment period that can cause your periods to change and be a bit irregular, "menstrual bleeding [that] is heavy and prolonged" is something that you need to talk to your GP about as per the Nexplanon website.