Quarantine distance relationship

Any questions or discussions that you ONLY want to discuss with our staff or volunteers.
(Users: please do not reply to other users here.)
Liltimmyt
not a newbie
Pronouns: She/her

Quarantine distance relationship

Unread post by Liltimmyt »

Hello. I’ve talked about this before...but I wanted to hear thoughts about it now. So I’ve been talking to this guy from Oregon I met on tinder for four months. I’m from Wisconsin so we wouldn’t be able to easily meet even if we weren’t in the midst of a global pandemic. He is so great and although we at first thought we’d just be casual and have fun (send nudes and sext) it’s progressed to where we only talk to each other. We’re loyal to each other. We talk everyday through snapchat. We know everything about each other. He says he really likes me and I make him happy. He hasn’t the best experience in past relationships (he doesn’t choose great girls and is always dumped). I’ve never been in a relationship. I want to visit him and actually meet, or at least talk on the phone or FaceTime. He says he doesn’t like distance, and had an unsuccessful distance relationship before. I’ve told him it can be no strings attached and we’d just hang out and see how things go. But he says he’s awkward and scared. So I’m not sure if it’s something about me, if it’s the distance, or something else that’s making him feel that way. I care about him a lot and I know I treat him a lot better than other girls have. His longest relationship was five months and him and I have been talking for four months. I don’t want to pressure him, but it’s hard for me to understand why he’s not excited about meeting me if he says the things he does to me. What can I do to comfort him? Is it bad to want to rationalize his fears of meeting me? I just know we’d get along so well and it’s frustrating he’s so resistant after such a long time.
Alexa
previous staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: i make the world's best pancakes!