advice for talking with a crush

Brand-new? This is the place for your questions and discussions on any and all topics, with fellow users or staff, while you get your feet wet.
hoid_washington
Awesomeness Quotient: I'm a theatre student and I really enjoy acting :)
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Cis woman, heterosexual, maybe biromantic??????

advice for talking with a crush

Unread post by hoid_washington »

Hi Scarleteen peeps,

Longtime reader of the main website, new reader and poster to these forums. This is kind of embarrassing to write, but here goes.

I (20 years old, she/her) have never been in any kind of romantic or sexual relationship. I know that that's not unusual, but I still feel insecure about it sometimes. Mostly it means that I have no idea how one goes about the process of getting someone to like you. I have had crushes before, but they've been what I like to dub "flash in the pan" crushes - I'm into the person for like two days before I abruptly and easily get over them. However, now I'm experiencing a long-lasting crush and my brain does not have a social script for this situation and is therefore panicking.

So I'm a sophomore in college, and I am in the marching band (I play clarinet, if you're curious). There is a boy (junior in college, he/him) in the trumpet section that I have A Lot Of Feelings about. I met him fall semester of last year - both through marching band and having another class together (I'm a theatre major, he's a theatre minor). About halfway through last semester, my brain noticed that Trumpet Boy is cute and also very upbeat and overall a joy to be around. The crush persisted, but I didn't have any classes with him spring semester, so I figured that by now my crush would have died out. As you can guess, it has not.