I think I have a fear of vulnerability, and I don’t know how to get over it

If it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, this is probably the place for it.
Soph22
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I’m a good musician
Primary language: English
Pronouns: She/her
Sexual identity: Bisexual

I think I have a fear of vulnerability, and I don’t know how to get over it

Unread post by Soph22 »

It started when I was younger, I had to take this medicine in the form of a needle and I didn’t want my little sister to watch me, because I didn’t want her seeing me in that vulnerable position. It’s worse now. I don’t want anyone seeing me sleep, so I force myself to stay awake even when I’m tired if I’m around people. One time I didn’t eat enough for breakfast and almost passed out when I was out with my family, now I’m constantly worried about what I eat because I’m scared it’ll happen again and I’ll pass out in front of people. I don’t care if I faint alone, but if others are there to witness it, it makes me feel embarrassed. Same with throwing up in front of people. Of course I hate crying in front of people. I don’t ever want to open up to people about how insecure I am, and just how far and dark my thoughts go. I think this all comes from a fear of being seen as weak, because I’ve already built myself a kind of reputation I guess within my friends and family that I’m tough and aggressive, when I’m really not. I don’t want people to think I’m aggressive, I think when I was younger I thought it was cool or something, but now I’m left with this fear of people seeing me in a vulnerable state and everyone just thinks I’m this aggressive, tough, and confident person but I’m really not. I’m emotional and insecure and I hate people thinking I’m aggressive.
Heather
scarleteen founder & director
Awesomeness Quotient: I have been a sex educator for over 25 years!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: queery-queer-queer