Talking about contraception with my mum

If it doesn't seem to fit anywhere else, this is probably the place for it.
El000
Pronouns: she/her

Talking about contraception with my mum

Unread post by El000 »

Hello everyone,
I'm 19 year old and I've been with my boyfriend for a few months and my parents have been aware of that. This is also my first serious relationship so I'm pretty new to anthing that comes with it. We did start getting more intimate (even tho we have never had penetrative sex) but I then realized the anxiety related to a possible pregnancy this was giving me was not worth it. As a side note, I should definitely work on that (because honestly with the kind of sexual contact we had there is basically zero risk).
My boyfriend is totally cool with avoiding any kind of sexual contact and has been supporting me a lot, despite this I still want to get intimate with him sooner or later.
We would definitely use a condom but I still would feel a lot safer using two kinds of contraceptive at the same time (I'm also really scared by any "mistake" that could happen during foreplay). I would love to talk about this with my mom before even going to the OBGYN to talk about which kind of contraceptive I should use but I feel like she could be really unhappy about me possibly having sex. We don't usually talk about thing things and we do have very different views on things such as abortion, sex before marriage,... I feel like the conversation would heat up really fast and that I would end up ruining the already not-so-perfect relationship I have with her.
I know that I could totally do everything by myself (I also live alone so it would be pretty easy) but having her by my side would really mean a lot to me. It would also mean I have the chance to discuss with her the possibile side effects since there are some conditions that run in my family that could make methods with oestrogens quite risky. So yeah... I really want to do it...