Dating Advice

Questions and discussions about relationships: girlfriends, boyfriends, lovers, partners, friends, family or other intimate relationships in your lives.
girlplayer34
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I can play basketball
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Lesbian

Dating Advice

Unread post by girlplayer34 »

So let me paint you a picture... I'm 23 years old and I'm a tech entrepreneur. I've spent most of my life working which I completely ok with, most of my friends have had real relationships I have not which again is fine, or it is? I work a lot I have several employees and investors and I honestly love my job which is rare for most people. I get to go to work excited everyday about the company I am building but most of my friends are worried. You see I don't like dating at all I mean I hate what has become of dating today all of the dating apps and sliding in the DMs is a turn off for me. I am introverted so I don't hangout much plus I like being alone. I kind of wonder if relationships are even important, I mean my parents weren't married or together when they had me and my brother so what's the point? I mean I feel like I don't have options. So I guess the question is should I try dating? and is dating really important?(I'm also a believer in the scientific method which is why I asked these questions) other opinions and thoughts are welcome.
Sam W
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: I raise carnivorous plants
Primary language: english
Sexual identity: queer

Re: Dating Advice

Unread post by Sam W »

Hi girlplayer34,

In terms of whether you should try dating, I would say only if you want to or are interested in it. Trying to date out of obligation or the feeling that it's what you "should" be doing is a great way to end up resenting or disliking the process even more.