How to stop wanting to be loved

Questions and discussions about relationships: girlfriends, boyfriends, lovers, partners, friends, family or other intimate relationships in your lives.
KurtisC
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I'm a neon light artist
Pronouns: he him
Sexual identity: idk i like girls

How to stop wanting to be loved

Unread post by KurtisC »

Does anyone have any tips on how to stop wanting to love and be loved? It makes me so unattractive and I'll never get it this way!
Amanda F
previous staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: I love to go rock climbing outside!
Primary language: English
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: Queer

Re: How to stop wanting to be loved

Unread post by Amanda F »

Hi KurtisC,

Wanting to love and be loved is a pretty common experience for many people (though we're all on a spectrum of romanticism). It can certainly cause frustration if there isn't any love to be found at the moment, though. Can you tell me a little bit more about why you feel this makes you unattractive?
KurtisC
not a newbie

Unread post by KurtisC »

Just feel desperate and like I don't have a life. Wanting love so bad feels unmasculine and pathetic maybe. Like you get it as a prize for being cool but I can't be cool because I can't stop feeling like my life's empty...
Amanda F
previous staff/volunteer

I'm hearing a lot of self-judgment there, and also some unhappiness about how life is going in general. It sounds like you're having a tough time, maybe even beyond love/wanting love. That sounds pretty tough to be feeling. Is this something that's been going on for a while, KurtisC?
KurtisC
not a newbie

Unread post by KurtisC »