rethinking my relationship

Questions and discussions about relationships: girlfriends, boyfriends, lovers, partners, friends, family or other intimate relationships in your lives.
phantomdog
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: i'm a biology researcher!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: he / him
Sexual identity: bi

rethinking my relationship

Unread post by phantomdog »

hi everyone,

this is something i've been feeling pretty conflicted about recently. to start, my boyfriend and i have been together for roughly 2 years total. from around december 2018-april 2019 we were broken up and seeing different people for a time, but came back together in april as an open relationship. he expressed after some time that he was very uncomfortable with the idea of being in an open relationship so we became monogamous. we used to spend every day together, but now we only see each other a few times a week, mainly because i work a lot. as of late i just feel very bored and stagnant with the relationship and i don't know if i am really interested in putting in the work to revive it. sex is really the most interesting thing we do together and often times our time together feels bitter because he's constantly in some kind of mood. this summer has also brought to light a lot of things i don't like in him personally, but even in spite of that i do really love and care for him, but i just don't know if what i want is this relationship anymore. some days i feel that more strongly than others, and other days i feel happy with him, and it's very confusing for me. there's also things i wish i could do -- like see other people casually -- that i cannot do in a monogamous relationship. i'm also finding myself increasingly more attracted to girls, so i don't know what the deal with that is. it just all feels very conflicting and confusing. i guess it just feels like we just aren't on the same wavelength anymore...

thank you for reading
Heather
scarleteen founder & director