am I edging myself?

Questions and discussion about your sexual lives, choices, activities, ideas and experiences.
purple_triangle
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: I'm good at music theory
Primary language: English
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: Gay

am I edging myself?

Unread post by purple_triangle »

I've been masturbating for around three years and having partnered sex for around two and I haven't orgasmed yet. Recently my boyfriend and I have experimented with using my vibrator together, and I've always found that it gets to a point where it feels really sensitive and overwhelming, so we stop and do something else. My boyfriend said he did some research and found that a lot of people with clitorises say that it gets really overwhelming right before the orgasm, and maybe I should try to keep going through the overstimulation. He thinks by stopping when I do I might be accidentally edging myself. I've tried pushing through the sensitivity, but it just starts to feel like too much. A lot of the time when I stop though I feel kind of unfulflled like there's still tension in my abdomen waiting to be released, so I'm wondering if maybe he's right and I just need to keep going? Sometimes I've tried lowering the vibrator setting or using my fingers instead, but then that doesn't feel like enough stimulation. I also try not to think too hard about orgasming in the moment since I know that makes it harder, but I would like to be able to reach climax.
Sam W
scarleteen staff/volunteer
Awesomeness Quotient: I raise carnivorous plants
Primary language: english
Pronouns: she/her
Sexual identity: queer

Re: am I edging myself?

Unread post by Sam W »

Hi purple_triangle,