best time to take pregnancy test

Questions and discussion about contraception, safer sex, STIs, sexual healthcare and other sexual health issues.
phantomdog
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: i'm a biology researcher!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: he / him
Sexual identity: bi

best time to take pregnancy test

Unread post by phantomdog »

hi all,

last week my boyfriend and i had unprotected "intercourse" (quotations because he only put it in me for a few moments because we wanted to see if it really does feel better without a condom) and as of today my period is a day late. i'm aware that theoretically that was a risky action and can cause pregnancy. most tests i see at the store advertise themselves as being able to provide an accurate reading a day before a missed period. i was wondering if that would still hold true if my last unprotected activity was only a week ago. either way, i'll give it a few days and test if it still doesn't come but i still want to know if that was too recent for the test to be accurate. thank you!
Gone.Sorry.
not a newbie
Pronouns: required field

Re: best time to take pregnancy test

Unread post by Gone.Sorry. »

When it's best to take a pregnancy test can actually depend on the brand you buy and how sensitive it is! For the most accurate result, you should wait one week after your first missed period, but there are some tests that you can receive an accurate positive on the first day of your missed period (putting conception at about two weeks prior). However, this should be considered secondary to the fact that pregnancy tests work off the levels of hgc in your body, meaning you can get accurate positives if you wait about two weeks after having sex, as it takes 7 - 12 days after conception for hgc levels to develop in measurable amounts. The most sensitive tests can report an accurate positive about 8 days after conception (which can occur up to a couple days after having sex).