hepatitis c

Questions and discussion about contraception, safer sex, STIs, sexual healthcare and other sexual health issues.
phantomdog
not a newbie
Awesomeness Quotient: i'm a biology researcher!
Primary language: english
Pronouns: he / him
Sexual identity: bi

hepatitis c

Unread post by phantomdog »

hi all,

my boyfriend recently got tested for std's and today while we were on the bus he received a call with his results. everything came back negative, but they found antibodies for hepatitis c in his blood and will be calling back tomorrow to schedule an appointment. he lives a very healthy lifestyle, working out daily and eating very little junk food and no meat. right now we're thinking he may have contracted the virus from one of his partners, who used to be addicted to heroin. he said this partner was tested, but i told him that's a vague statement as not all "tests" check for the same diseases. needless to say, he's very worried and feels gross and i'm moderately worried. i don't know too much about hepatitis c (so more information would be appreciated), but i do know it's transmitted through contaminated needles and unprotected sexual activity and affects your liver, potentially to a lethal extent if untreated. i also know it's highly curable, and that even some people can fight off an infection on their own. i will be getting tested on wednesday as part of routine testing and will ask if they can check for hep c as well. i guess i just need some advice for working through this with him and how to prepare if treatment is necessary, for either me or him. thank you!
Heather
scarleteen founder & director
Awesomeness Quotient: I have been a sex educator for over 25 years!
Pronouns: they/them
Sexual identity: queery-queer-queer

Re: hepatitis c

Unread post by Heather »