Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Support Groups » Experience with antidepressants?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Experience with antidepressants?
feefiefofemme
Activist
Member # 23917

Icon 1 posted      Profile for feefiefofemme     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
In the past several months, I've been going to therapy, mostly for OCD and anxiety disorder. My therapist suggested I try medication, and so I saw a psychiatrist. She started me on the generic brand of Prozac. I'm on a pretty small dosage right now because I'm just starting out, but I'm already getting some mild side effects. I'm going to stick with the Prozac for now and see how it goes, but I may end up switching to something else. Anyways, I know different people react differently to different medications, but I guess I was just wondering about other people's experiences with Prozac (fluoxetine) and/or other SSRIs.
Posts: 406 | From: California | Registered: Jun 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
LilBlueSmurf
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 1207

Icon 1 posted      Profile for LilBlueSmurf     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've been on quite a few SSRIs.

I was first put on Zoloft and it worked wonderfully for me. I stopped it against the advice of my doctor and when i had to go back on it, it didn't work for me.

Then i was on Effexor. HATED IT. Seriously hated it. I couldn't get my arse out of bed. I was so tired and lethargic ... It was horrible. I gave that two weeks and switched to Prozac.

Prozac was also wonderful for me. I was on that for years and then stopped, again, against the advice of my doctor.

Right now i am on Celexa. This has also been very good for me.