Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Support Groups » School Stress, Life Stress... Stress all around!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: School Stress, Life Stress... Stress all around!
TheMadMorrigan
Neophyte
Member # 32184

Icon 1 posted      Profile for TheMadMorrigan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So, as many of you might have gleaned from previous posts, I am a grad student. I'm a grad student in the sciences, to boot, meaning that when I'm not in class, I'm in lab, and when I'm not in either, I'm sleeping/cramming/decompressing. It usually isn't so tough to deal with, but when the stress from assignments or exams start building, a few things start to happen:

1) My concentration gets shot, and I can't concentrate on ANYTHING - school or otherwise. Usual scenario: I'll end up procrastinating and then have to spend a sleepless night or two furiously putting in a week's worth of work.

2) I have and always will have test anxiety, so it usually doesn't seem to matter how much I study - I will invariably start flipping out partway through the exam, blank on stuff I know, and then do rather poorly. My homework is usually quite good, and I participate in class discussions and ask questions, so my professors KNOW that I have at least some idea of what I'm doing but it never seems to be reflected on their exams.

3) During these points of stress, I'll start double-guessing my decision to come to grad school... like, am I really good enough to stick it out in the program? Am I good enough for a Ph.D? I don't even know whether this makes any sense or not, but it feels like I'm not cut out to do *anything*.