Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sexual Ethics and Politics » Bubble wrap.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Bubble wrap.
amychaos
Activist
Member # 37929

Icon 1 posted      Profile for amychaos     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm not sure if im posting in the right place, but opinions are welcome.

So I'm in my last year at school. most people in my class are 15/16 and pretty clued up on sex.
Recently I noticed that the teachers in my school are so bothered about offending people that they won't let us portray our feelings and achieve higher grades.
For example, in my drama class we were working on a script which had some sexual content and, it was a script which had been written for teenagers to perform. Our drama teacher cut out the whole 'sex' thing coz she said she didn't want to offend the exam board
Also in my English Lit. class the teacher is, uhmm, embarrassed? i think, to mention sex and/or anything related. We were reading Sonnet 130 and theres a line that says something about the woman's breast, and then he asked us to write our own, however we werent allowed to use any remotely sexual references...

Is it just me or does it seem like my school is trying to bubble wrap everything, so it's nice and safe and innocent, when in reality, nothing is.

Posts: 116 | From: England | Registered: Apr 2008  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
StrangePudding
Activist
Member # 40765

Icon 1 posted      Profile for StrangePudding     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post