Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sexual Ethics and Politics » Harassment, or individual expression?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Harassment, or individual expression?
Kite
Activist
Member # 5957

Icon 5 posted      Profile for Kite     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am currently a graduate teaching assistant, in charge of my own class (ie, I lecture, grade, make decisions concerning every aspect of a student's grade). I'm also queer. I am very often tempted to get some queer pride t-shirts, say something with a rainbow or a nice slogan or something, but I don't because I am afraid my students will consider my wearing it harassment. When I do get a non-mainstream piece of clothing (not queer), before wearing it I think about the odds of meeting a student that day. I live in a fairly conservative city, and it seems that students in general are quite hostile to queerness, and in general quite trigger-happy when it comes to complaining about teachers. I am afraid that a simple rainbow t-shirt would make them uncomfortable, and that they might argue I should keep my sexuality out of the classroom.

What do you think? Is it harassment, or self-expression to wear a queer t-shirt whenever I please? (Of course, nothing offensive like "--beep-- all straight people") Students, would you be made uncomfortable by a teacher wearing his/her pride? Teachers, do you think about those things too? Or am I just paranoid and not as much out of the closet as I like to think I am?

Posts: 127 | Registered: Nov 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Confused boy
Activist
Member # 1964

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Confused boy     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post