Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » The Randoms » How do you take friendly acquaintances and make them into friends?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: How do you take friendly acquaintances and make them into friends?
moonlight bouncing off water
Peer Ambassador
Member # 44338

Icon 5 posted      Profile for moonlight bouncing off water     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm in my first year at University and I'm finally starting to get a grip on things, but one thing eludes me: making friends.

Its not that I haven't made friends, I have friends (sort of). But not close ones, not ones I can talk to about the things I talk(ed) to my high school friends about.

So, how do I take those friendly acquaintances from class and become friends with them? If this was elementary school, I would ask them if they wanted to come over to my house to play and the friendship would develop (or not) along those lines. I'm very used to my friendships happening in that, and other ways created by the structure of the elementary and secondary schools.

If I was in high school, I would hang out with someone at lunch to become their friend, and sit with them in class if we had classes together (and we totally would, class is the place I met friends in high school: that and through other friends).

Beyond that, I'm used to friendships 'just happening'. I don't know how to make them happen. I don't know how to translate my elementary and high school knowledge of making friends into the university environment.

It should be noted that I haven't ever found making friends easy, indeed I find it to be one of the greast challenges of life. It wasn't ever easy in elementary and high school.