Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Abuse & Assault » I want to tell, but I'm scared

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I want to tell, but I'm scared
hopeishere
Neophyte
Member # 110786

Icon 1 posted      Profile for hopeishere     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Okay so this is my first time posting and this post might be kind of long so I apologize in advance.

So about four years ago, when I was a freshman in high school, I suffered my first encounter with what I now believe is ďsexual abuse.Ē

My momís side of the family and my immediate family have always been very close. My mom and her two sisters and all their kids spend a lot of time together. We always get together on holidays (major and minor) and I practically view my cousins as my siblings, and certainly view them as some of my best friends. I have one particular cousin (weíll call him Jake) that is only a month older than me. Growing up, we were probably the closest of all the cousins because we were the closest in age.

When I was about ten, devastation struck our family. Jake and his little sister (two years younger than us) were both diagnosed with osteosarcoma. Osteosarcoma is a form of childhood bone cancer for those of you who donít know. They both had it in their legs, Jake in his right leg, his sister in her left. They are both now in remission, but Jakeís sister now has a brace she has to wear all the time. Jake however, wasnít as lucky. After performing the limb-sparing surgery, Jake started losing circulation in his leg and they ended up having to amputate his right leg, just above the knee (I promise this is all relevant so please stick with me).