Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Abuse & Assault » Going to school while dealing with a trauma

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Going to school while dealing with a trauma
orca
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 33665

Icon 1 posted      Profile for orca     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm in my last year of college and in the process of applying to graduate schools. I've been thinking lately about how I got to this point and how difficult it has been. I am a survivor of abuse and sexual abuse by a former boyfriend. I left the relationship in my second year of college and struggled through part of my junior year because of flashbacks. To make it this far and have graduation and graduate school so close feels like an awesome achievement.

It's quite common for survivors of rape and abuse to not finish school or to have to put their education on hold for various reasons relating to the trauma. This can make us feel like our abusers are exerting even more control over us, even after we've left. Fortunately, some schools do offer services to aid students, but one has to know how to ask for them. The first step is talking to your school's counselor to see what options there are.

For those of you who are also survivors, how has your education been affected by your experiences? If you are having difficulties in school, is there anything we can help you with in terms of finding resources and information on options available to you?

--------------------
Listen, strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony.--Monty Python and the Holy Grail