Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Stress and fear at being judged

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Stress and fear at being judged
Ever Faithful
Neophyte
Member # 110574

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Ever Faithful     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I married my husband years ago, when I was quite young by conventional standards, and he was years older than me. He treats me extremely well, is cautious and gentle, never pushes anything, and even arranged me to get an education overseas at a private school which I would not have been able to do without him.

Now that I am studying overseas, classmates ask when I married, and when I tell them, are outraged. Some of them say he must have presured me, which he didn't, and others say I must be a slut to have married so young. They say that I must be open and willing for anything in order to marry, accusing me of marrying to try and hide a pregnancy for instance, when it was not so. Some of the guys get in my face about it, calling me names as they stand next to me, pretending to trip and slam into me while "accidentally" brushing up against my female attributes.

He and I take our marriage vows sincerely, and neither has ever strayed, nor has there been any suspicion between us. Yet some around me say the only reason he would have sent me is if he had someone on the side he was trying to hide, and while I know the falseness of it, when they spread rumors it is hard to hear. They keep telling me I should try and leave him, but I do not want to, nor do I appreciate their interfearance.