Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Friends and college

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Friends and college
mmiiaa
Activist
Member # 89924

Icon 9 posted      Profile for mmiiaa     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
hey there. I'm a college sophomore at a pretty big state university. (24,000 people). My freshman year was pretty cool, minus having an awful roommate, but it was nice since I met tons of people and met my first serious boyfriend (whom I'm still dating). But as freshman year wound down, I found that even though I met lots of people, joined clubs, was active in volunteering at my school, I had yet to find that "niche" of people that you hang out with on a regular basis.

I saw almost everyone else, hanging out with their regular group of friends, doing everything or nothing, and I feel extremely...abnormal. Like there is something wrong with me and I'm missing out on the great college experience. Don't get me wrong, I talk to and have lunch with and text a lot of people I meet. But it never develops into something where we hang out on a regular basis.

Now that I'm a sophomore, I feel even MORE like a freak. Everyone already has their set of friends, it seems like they don't want to add anymore. I considered dropping out or transferring, but I love my program here and I feel like giving up because of this would be a waste of my parents money.

But I feel like my time to meet/make that group of friends, or even that one close friend, is running out, and that I've missed my window of opportunity freshman year.