Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » First Time?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: First Time?
averagejen
Activist
Member # 36400

Icon 5 posted      Profile for averagejen     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've been in a relationship with a guy I knew from high school (I'm a freshman in college now). Even though we went to different colleges, we decided to go into a relationship because we felt that was the right thing to do for us (and still feel that way); long-distance is not really a problem for us since our colleges are about an hour away and we both make the effort to travel to see each other at least once a week. We've been going out for about 3 1/2 months now, and I cannot deny the strong sexual chemistry between us. I'm not a virgin; I've first had sex with my ex-boyfriend (who was my first serious boyfriend) when we were going out for about 10 months (we ended up going out for almost 2 years total before we decided to part ways). But my current boyfriend IS a virgin and I don't want to push anything onto him as far as sexual activity goes, but I'm not dumb and I've been picking up signals from him that he's definitely sexually attracted to me as well. My question is, how long were you in a relationship before you decided to have sex? I'm not trying to get an estimate for myself but I'm just curious. Also, I feel that it is somewhat "wrong" for me to rush into having sex so early on in the relationship, although inside I feel as if I know I can truly trust him and he can trust me and we can talk about really anything. Any opinions on that? And how would I go about bringing sex up without making my boyfriend think I'm just in it for the sex or that I don't really consider this an emotionally engaging relationship