Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » problems living at home

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: problems living at home
Member # 24791

Icon 13 posted      Profile for elliebean     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
i'm a college freshman, and i live at school. i just got finished with mt winter break, which was the first extended period of time i've spent at home since i started college.

last year (my senior year of high school), i was really sick. my thyroid gland completely stopped working, i had trouble keeping food down, i was severely clinically depressed, and for a while i developed a fairly minor eating disorder. i also slept very little, about 3 or 4 hours a day, and about twice a week i didn't sleep at all.

i slowly got better, and by the time i left for college, i felt better than i had in several years. i kept feeling healthy all the way through the first semester.

when i got home for winter break, my symptoms started coming back.

i figure it happened for a few of reasons. i have a complicated relationship with my mom that tends to stress us both out pretty badly, so that doesn't facilitate feeling great. also, i think i probably associate my house (and especially spending most of my time there) with the time that i was sick. and of course, without stuff to occupy my time, i have plenty of time to worry too much and get preoccupied with my body image and things like that.

bottom line, it makes me nervous to think about living at home over the summer, though i'd be working. i'm terrified of getting depressed again; i don't know that i could handle it. i feel like i don't have a place to go home to. does anyone have a suggestion for anything i can do to try to avoid relapsing?