Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » discrimination in school because of my "style"

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: discrimination in school because of my "style"
belowzer0
Neophyte
Member # 15095

Icon 1 posted      Profile for belowzer0     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
i'm 15 and i attend a small, rural highschool in North Carolina. my freshman year i was "normal", i.e. wore pretty abercrombie clothes, long blondish hair, ext. but i was so miserable then, with myself and my "friends", so over the summer i got new, better friends, and adopted my OWN style of dressing. my new style is sort of a mixture between gothic and punk, i always wear black. i cut my hair short and dyed it black too. but i'm so much happier now.

i'm a straight A student, always have been. i'm in the beta club, i'm soft spoken, polite, and respectful. but since i've changed the way i dress, school admisitraters have started treating me like trash. like i'm a strung out drugged up delinquent who's always up to no good. which is ironic because the year before, when i was "normal", was the only time in my life that i had ever done drugs continuously. i get singled out over ridiculous things, like the so called dress code. today, for instance, i was given a day of in school suspinsion for my shirt, when i had been through 3 classes without any one saying anything, but on my way to fourth the vice principal stopped me in the hall and started getting all mean, then sent me to chillout. when i started crying in there because he was talking about me like i was bad he told me to stop acting and to go "whipe that crap off my face" (he was refering to my eyeliner-i draw designs on my face with it to match my outfits).