Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Boyfriend going to college....

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Boyfriend going to college....
Beautiful Disaster
Activist
Member # 33220

Icon 9 posted      Profile for Beautiful Disaster     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well. My boyfriend, as mentioned in other posts is a senior in high school, whereas I am a freshman. He applied to VT and GMU, and got accepted to GMU. I'm really happy for him that he's going and all, but I'm worried about when he leaves. GMU is only 45 minutes away from where I live, but it still bothers me.

I trust him completely, I'm not worried about him cheating. After 5 years of friendship, I think we trust each other enough that that is not going to pose a problem. The thing I am worried about, however, is us just drifting apart. I mean, I know he's going to be close and everything, but with all the work involved with college, I'm just scared that he'll kind of forget about me.

I've been thinking about it for about a month now, and I really don't want to break up with him just because he's leaving. It seems selfish, and well just mean. But...would it be better if I did? My best friend is in the same position as me, and she's breaking up with her bf. It makes me wonder if I should as well.

I just don't know what to do :-(
I love him so much, but would it be better for us to stay good friends? or stay together and consequentially risk drifting apart?
I need some help on this one guys. It might seem stupid, but its eating at me inside.

Posts: 43 | From: United States | Registered: Mar 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Beautiful Disaster
Activist
Member # 33220