Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » yet another age difference topic

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: yet another age difference topic
snarky
Neophyte
Member # 31948

Icon 1 posted      Profile for snarky     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
i'm seventeen, he's nineteen (turns twenty in march). it's not entirely a huge age difference, but he graduated from high school at sixteen. since then, he's been working.

why am i bothered by this? i constantly feel like a little kid when we're together. as if i need to catch up.. or something. he's talking about getting his own place whereas i'm studying for my ap us history class. i have a curfew and he can stay out for however long he wants.

we're not keeping any secrets, and he respects all of the restrictions i have, because well, if he didn't that would be ridiculous haha. but it creeps me out sometimes, regardless of how much i like him. i don't want to date someone who reminds me of a 'father figure'. i need to talk about this with him, but i'm scared. i want to continue being in a relationship, but i need a new approach. i need reassurance.

blahhh. insecurities are lame.

Posts: 39 | From: los angeles | Registered: Dec 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
DarkChild717
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 139

Icon 1 posted      Profile for DarkChild717     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Granted, at this point, he's been responsible for himself (mostly) for the last 3-4 years. Simply put, he's got more life experience than you, and that's okay.