Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » College friend problems

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: College friend problems
LucysDiamonds
Activist
Member # 30315

Icon 1 posted      Profile for LucysDiamonds     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So, I'm in my first year at university, and on the whole people are very nice here, but I have very few close friends. Those people I do like very much ALL live on the floor below me in my dorm room, and apparently it's too much trouble for them to come up one flight of stairs to my room (or take the elevator, or even call me - they all have my phone number) when they go do things. I go down to their rooms occasionally, every other day-ish, sometimes more often than that, but they almost never come up to get me. I don't think they actually dislike me (they all gave me huge hugs when we got back from vacation), I just feel like they don't think I'm part of "the group." If I were living on their floor I'm sure it would be different, but unfortunately I'm not and I can't really change my living arrangements. Is there anything I can do? Anybody else ever have this problem? I mean, I'm okay with staying in most nights; I'm not a huge partier. But it would be nice to, you know, have a regular group to eat dinner with, instead of just maybe once or twice a week.

--------------------
So if you care to find me
Look to the western sky
As someone told me lately
Everyone deserves the chance to fly

Posts: 365 | From: DC | Registered: Aug 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Ecofem
Activist
Member # 13388

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Ecofem     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post