Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » Long Distance Relationship

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Long Distance Relationship
roman_poet_22002
Neophyte
Member # 10747

Icon 5 posted      Profile for roman_poet_22002     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ok. I need your opinions. I'm just confused and doubtful.

I'm a guy and I met this girl online. She's a year younger than me (I'm 19 and she's 18). We're both from California and we're about 10-12hrs apart. We've been dating for one month and we only communicate via telephone and recently by letters.
So this is the story: I wanted to visit her on this coming spring break, because right now I'm studying in a university and the only and longest vacation I have on spring is on spring break. Our plan was visiting her on spring break and stay at her house for a few days. Her mom was fine with me staying in her house. I told my mom about it yesterday (me and my mom are close and I can tell her about almost all my stuff). My illusions of visiting and meeting her and to get to know each other more [we love each other very much] fell apart. My mom didn't like the idea of me visiting her and staying at her house.
I got very upset when my mom told me that. My gf and I agreed to divide the cost of the plane ticket among each other. My mom didn't like that idea also. She told me that the Man should be able to buy that plane ticket, for example. Personally, I perceive that as men being above women and I don't like that. Women are capable of being at the same level as men. Being here at this university has greatly influenced me in my life, especially my Women Studies class and other classes I've taken that I've learned a lot about different cultures.