Donate Now
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Relationships » calling parents

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: calling parents
jake16
Neophyte
Member # 10152

Icon 5 posted      Profile for jake16     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi there. I was wondering if anyone could give some advice. You see, I'm in my third year of college. Every year that I've been here, I've called my parents everynight. I like to stay in touch with my parents, and I could never go for like weeks on end like some of my friends do without speaking to them. My problem is this: I feel that because we talk so often it makes (at least me) testy. I'm getting so I can't stand it anymore. They ask me the same questions over and over again (what did you have for supper?, what are you doing tonight? how come you haven't talked about your schoolwork? etc.) it gets to be a bit much. especially on weekends because I'm not a huge party guy or anything, and they always ask me what I'm doing on Friday or Saturday night, and of course, I say "nothing", which doesn't bother me that I'm not doing anything, but it makes me feel like a loser taht I have to tell them this. I wish they would stop asking that question. I appreciate their concern, but it gets a bit much! sorry for ranting!! Anyway, to make a long story short, I think that it might be best for both me and my parents if we didn't speak as often? I mean, I appreciate everything they do for me, and I feel bad that it's to the point where I feel I can't even take 10 minutes from my day to call them, but everytime I talk to them I get all stressed out. I think it would be better to talk to them less, that way we wouldn't be so sick of each other, because I hate making them mad too. They get mad at me because I get all stressed out at all the repetitious questions they ask