Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Emergencies and Crises » Risk of pregnancy?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Risk of pregnancy?
Kotori
Activist
Member # 17839

Icon 5 posted      Profile for Kotori     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, I need some help evaluating my situation and deciding what to do. A few hours ago I had unprotected intercourse. However he did not ejaculate inside of me, or anywhere close to my vagina.

1) I am on Nuvaring, but this is just the first cycle, and I only inserted the ring on the morning of the 4th June, so slightly less than one week ago. (I had been using Nuvaring for several years in the past, but stopped for a few months and only started using it again now, in case that somehow makes a difference)

2) My period just ended a couple of days ago (I inserted the ring on the first day of my last period, ie. my period started on the 4th)

I want to know what my chances of pregnancy are, and if it would make sense to use/I can use the morning-after pill. Is there any problem taking the pill while on the Nuvaring? I am also taking sertraline 50 mg a day for my depression.

Also, if I take the morning after pill, since I am already using Nuvaring, would I get another "period" right away? What would happen? Would this affect when I should take out the ring and insert the new one?

As for STDs I know I have to get tested, and will do so.

Thanks so much for any help. This has never happened before and I am still in shock over how to proceed.

Posts: 80 | From: USA | Registered: Apr 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Sam W
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 108189

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Sam W     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Kotori,