Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » 20something Questions: Confused, please help!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: 20something Questions: Confused, please help!
MissTK
Neophyte
Member # 108531

Icon 9 posted      Profile for MissTK     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
First of all, I'd like to thank everybody who's going to reply to this in advance. This site is really helping me so much and I'll try to keep this as short as short as I can.

Okay, so I'm a twenty-year-old female medical student and I've never been kissed, had a boyfriend, been touched by a guy or even looked at funny by a guy. Now I'm from a very traditional family who value it very much when girls "look after themselves" i.e. not have boyfriends or have sex before marriage, focus on studies, become successful... You know, that sort of thing.

When I was younger, I always thought that it was a good thing because my older cousins all had teenage pregnancies and my family only used this to enforce how "bad" sex is on me. So I grew up with this negative idea of anything intimate with a guy. As I started high school, the hormones hit and I suddenly had all these feelings that I didn't know how to handle and ALL my friends were being asked out and were dating and getting male attention while I was being rejected left, right and centre.

It was confusing and hurtful and it never changed and got to the point where I became clinically depressed because I was so desperate for guys to like me too. I hated myself and my body and everything about myself really because it only made sense that I was the problem because all my friends were dating.