Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Late pill?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Late pill?
soccer06
Activist
Member # 92108

Icon 1 posted      Profile for soccer06         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Scarleteen,

I am in the middle of the second week in my (combined) pill pack. Yesterday night I spaced out and took my pill this morning at 7 AM instead of last night at 10PM...this is my first time taking one late, so i'm not sure what that means.

Does this make the pill less effective? When is the combined pill considered late?

Posts: 140 | Registered: Dec 2011  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Taking pills late can impact their effectiveness.

But, like I think we have talked about before, I think it's most sound with a method like the pill for everyone to figure they probably will only have typical use effectiveness anyway, especially since not missing or taking any pills late in one whole year would be pretty miraculous.

So, at most, that'd dip you to typical use effectiveness -- 92% in one year -- but that's probably about what you have from your pill anyway.

--------------------
Heather Corinna, Executive Director & Founder, Scarleteen
About Me Get our book!
Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has. - Margaret Mead

Posts: 68290 | From: An island near Seattle | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
soccer06
Activist
Member # 92108

I'm confused as to when my pill is late. I keep hearing 3 and 12 hours...i'm not sure which is which...if it was 12 for the COP, it wouldn't be considered late?