Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Menstrual....chunks? (slightly graphic)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Menstrual....chunks? (slightly graphic)
OliveKitten
Neophyte
Member # 96465

Icon 9 posted      Profile for OliveKitten     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Scarleteen,

I was recently on another online forum, and the topic of menstrual "chunks" came up, described as such:

"When a woman menstruates, it's not just blood that comes out, it's literally the lining of the uterus, the things that come out aren't always smooth, but may infact contain chunks of uterus and flesh."

I've been menstruating for about 8 years and I've never encountered this. Is this a real, normal thing?

PS, thank you guys for this site. I'm constantly referring it to my friends and people in other forums online. It's great [Smile]

Posts: 11 | From: USA | Registered: Aug 2012  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Basically, sometimes periods look very fluid per flow (but are still not all blood, btw: that's only one part of flow). Other times, they can be more chunky, whether that's about flow mixing with thicker vaginal/cervical discharges, or some endometrium (not "flesh," I mean, to me, "flesh" is our epidermis, so I'd not use that word) coming out as more solid, rather than more fluid.

Also, it might help to bear in mind that 8 years is really just a fraction of the time you'll probably menstruate for, so you may have a world of various variations ahead of you yet! [Smile]

And you're so welcome!

[ 08-08-2012, 01:43 PM: Message edited by: Heather ]

--------------------
Heather Corinna, Executive Director & Founder, Scarleteen