Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Ready?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Ready?
polkadots2
Neophyte
Member # 93754

Icon 1 posted      Profile for polkadots2     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My boyfriend and I have been dating for 8 months. I feel that I'm ready for sex and have for some time now. When I told him this yesterday, we talked about it, and he was happy with my feelings. This will be my first time having sex, he has had sex before. I told him that I want to wait and research/get on birth control before we take the next step. But now that I'm thinking about it, I'm starting to get nervous. I'm not sure that this is a sign that I'm not ready, or if it's just nerves over something because I've never done before. I'm also nervous about birth control. I learned in one of my sciences classes this year that birth control is something that shouldn't be taken too early on in life because it decreases the amount of estrogen our bodies produce, which could contribute to problems later on in life. But then I'm afraid to only use a condom because what if it breaks? My mom and I don't really talk about sex all that much, but when I brought up the topic of birth control that my professor discussed, she agreed with him and said that until about 5 years ago when she started using birth control, she had only used condoms. I know that this is a lot, but I would appreciate some guidance. Thank you!
Posts: 20 | From: usa | Registered: Jan 2012  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Robin Lee
Volunteer Assistant Director
Member # 90293

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Robin Lee     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi polkadots2,