Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Conflicting Feelings...

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Conflicting Feelings...
samanthamt
Activist
Member # 41234

Icon 5 posted      Profile for samanthamt     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm 21 years old and I'm in my first semester of nursing school. It's amazing, I love it, I would never want to do anything to jeopardize becoming an RN, I worked really hard to get into the nursing program at my school. A couple weeks ago I had a huge pregnancy scare. I was so positive I was pregnant, till the test came out negative of course lol. And at first (before I took the test) I was terrified and freaked out, but excited at the same time. I'm in no way trying to get pregnant, and I think deep down I don't want a child right now, but through all the fear I had when I thought I was pregnant, I was strangely excited. It was weird...like...I didn't want to be pregnant, but then again I thought to myself, if I am, I would be happy. Almost like I sort of wanted it. But I'm in nursing school, I'm engaged, to a man who, lets just say, if we were to have a baby out of wedlock it would ruin his career. He's in ministry. I have so much left to accomplish and I want to be established before I start a family. But ever since this scare there's this little nagging part of me that wants a baby. Is this normal? Is it just some sort of maternal instinct? I just can't figure out why on earth I'm feeling this way. I do have a therapist, but my appointment is weeks away, she's booked, and not knowing why I'm feeling like this is driving me crazy. Probably because if it was someone else telling me the same thing I could give them a rational reason, but for myself I just have no idea.

--------------------