Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Does everyone have to settle for less in their romantic partners?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Does everyone have to settle for less in their romantic partners?
luanne
Activist
Member # 48638

Icon 8 posted      Profile for luanne     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It's DIFFICULT for me to find people I'm attracted to. So far I've only found two interesting guys. One is my teacher (married and over 30 years older than me!) and the other is a boy in my grade who I've been hankering after for about four years.

Forget the teacher. I need to talk about the boy. He's bright, kind, and out of the loop socially. He's very dedicated to schoolwork and has a passion for physics and mathematics. He has nice broad shoulders and a lean muscley body, but most people don't see him as attractive because there's something awkward about the way he moves. I find everything about him supremely handsome. Especially the brain.

He and I were very good friends for years, and he knew all along that I was mad about him. But he had no qualms telling me right off the bat that he wasn't attracted to me. He's given to liking average, moderately nice girls who are put off by his sketchiness.

Although I like him a lot, I know it's hard for his type of guy to get a girlfriend- he could be talking about the weather with a girl and she'd still feel his sexual desire heinously pervading the atmosphere. My problem is that I feel like there must be something seriously unappetizing about me as a female if this horniest of boys isn't romantically attracted to me.