Donate Now

my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » EXPERT ADVICE » Ask Scarleteen » Chronic Yeast Infections?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Chronic Yeast Infections?
k_leigh7692
Neophyte
Member # 30348

Icon 2 posted      Profile for k_leigh7692     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I was wondering, is it possible to have chronic, yet mild yeast infections once a month?

I'm on birth control and the week before and of my period, I get mild itching and irritation, plus the somewhat fishy smell going on. This happens EVERY month. I've taken to keeping a tube of miconzole nitrate in the bathroom drawer for that new "special time of the month."

I also work as a lifeguard and I sit in my bathing suit for several hours at a time, but not usually wet because I never need to get in the pool.

It doesn't really bother me any other time of the month except for around the time for my period, and it stops around a half of a week after my period ends.

Does it have something to do w/my hormonal changes? What's going on here? And more importantly, is there anything I can do, because I can't be asking the doctor for flucanzole every month and I don't like to use the over-the-counter treatments, but they worked last month.

Thanks,

k_leigh7692

Posts: 31 | From: North Carolina | Registered: Aug 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
-Lauren-
Activist
Member # 25983

Icon 1 posted      Profile for -Lauren-     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I should hope you haven't been self-treating this whole time without having the diagnosis confirmed by a physician; a fishy smell paired with irritation is characterized by a bacterial infection, not fungal like yeast.