Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Gender Issues » Birth control and the body- genderqueer

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Birth control and the body- genderqueer
telo
Neophyte
Member # 39041

Icon 1 posted      Profile for telo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hey there everyone! I'm a female and basically I had been totally comfortable with my body until I started birth control. I was wondering if anyone else has happened upon this.. Or I figured I'd share my story with you guys anyway.

SO! I've been leaning toward labeling myself as genderqueer for a few years at this point but the subject rarely comes up.

I had been very comfortable with my body because I was barely an A cup, and I was mistaken as a man more than a few times. I feel like my body had a pristine connection with my mind because I was (to my knowledge) otherwise perfectly healthy and my period had disappeared for six months which forced me to use birth control. The effects of birth control are making me realize how hard it is for people to deal with their gender when their bodies function ..properly? I guess? I'm not sure if I'm phrasing this correctly. Now that I have noticeable breasts and have my period.. It's more than appearance to deal with.

My body hadn't had the means to make breasts, acne or menstruate before this. It just made sense before. I feel like my body knew what it ws doing before I 'corrected' it.

This will be my last month on birth control unless I can find out if there are alternative brands I can use that won't effect my appearance so much. I know that as a woman I should be having a period so I'll probably have to go back to using it.