Donate Now
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Got Questions? Get Answers. » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Gender Issues » confused about gender identity and presentation

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: confused about gender identity and presentation
Ohanapecosh
Neophyte
Member # 35505

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Ohanapecosh         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I was always kind of a "preppy girl" but I never really thought much about it; I just wanted to fit in with my friends. Then I went to college and I started to relax in terms of clothing style. In my second year, my sister started researching gender stuff for a high school graduation project she was doing, and something about what she was learning sort of clicked with me. I started learning more about gender and I realized that I didn't identify as a woman, but I'm not sure what I really identify as. I've tried out different labels, like gender variant, but none of them really seem to fit either.

And now I'm not even sure if I'm straight. In the last year-and-a-half or so I've noticed that I'm sometimes attracted to other girls (but only girls who are more androgynous or are experimenting with gender presentation).

I really want to experiment more with gender presentation, but I'm kind of scared to do that...not exactly sure why I'm scared. Sometimes I try binding, but that's about all I really feel comfortable doing.

Does any one have any suggestions or help for me?

Posts: 1 | From: state of Washington | Registered: Oct 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well, I'm not exactly sure what you're asking for.