Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » MEMBER-ONLY FORUMS » Village People » transferring colleges

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: transferring colleges
tofutticutie
Activist
Member # 14673

Icon 1 posted      Profile for tofutticutie     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
i'm not sure if this goes here, or if you guys even answer stuff like this...
but i recently transferred from a university in my hometown because i thought i needed to get out and go somewhere else. i was there for a year, and now i'm a sophomore at a new school. thing is, i kind of hate the new school. it's just not working out for me and i am really wanting to be back at the old one.
my question is, what would you do in this situation?
do you think it would be a bad idea to transfer back? i will lose some credit again, i guess. do you think it would be better to just stay in one place and stick with it? i feel flakey and kind of like a failure wanting to go back when i was so gung-ho about getting out. i dont know. what do you guys think? ever been in a situation like this?

Posts: 51 | From: NC, USA | Registered: Sep 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
LilBlueSmurf
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 1207

Icon 1 posted      Profile for LilBlueSmurf     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hey there,

I think you REALLY need to weigh the pros and cons here.

Have you talked to an academic advisor at your college? Do you know exactly how many credits you'll lose and how far this bumps your grad date back?

What were you running from when you left your univ the first time? Do you think the situation you left is going to be any better when you return?