Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Safer Sex & Birth Control » Will my mom know if I get the Pill?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Will my mom know if I get the Pill?
dcmolly44
Neophyte
Member # 110396

Icon 1 posted      Profile for dcmolly44     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am a 19-year-old college student who just finished my freshman year at a school far from home. Until my birthday in February, I had a special children's health insurance plan from the state; because of that and because I come from a fairly conservative state I assumed my insurance wouldn't cover birth control. However, now I have a Humana plan through the Obamacare exchanges which covers birth control for free. My question is, if I get the Pill through this insurance, will my mom be able to find out? I really don't want her to know I'm on the Pill but I really need it.
Posts: 3 | From: Washington, DC | Registered: May 2014  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Did you apply for this plan, and do you pay for it yourself?

If it is not connected to a family plan, then no, there is no one, not a parent or anyone else, who is not part of your plan who can know what you use it for.

--------------------
Heather Corinna, Executive Director & Founder, Scarleteen
About Me Get our book!
Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has. - Margaret Mead

Posts: 68290 | From: An island near Seattle | Registered: May 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
dcmolly44
Neophyte
Member # 110396