Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Safer Sex & Birth Control » Bleeding for 12 weeks on Cerazette.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Bleeding for 12 weeks on Cerazette.
Satsuma
Neophyte
Member # 38368

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Satsuma     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello!

I've been taking Cerazette since mid-November last year (I'll start my fifth packet this Thursday.) Since December 13th (12 weeks ago) I've been almost continuously having what looks like a normal menstrual period. I've had a few days where I haven't bled at all but apart from that I've been bleeding continuously for the last three months, and I'm getting slightly concerned about it. I've taken all the pills within a few minutes of 7.30am except for one which was an hour late and once when I thought I'd forgotten in the morning I mistakenly took an extra pill at 10.30pm.

It's not impossible that I could have miscarried in November as I went seven weeks between periods but I'd consider it unlikely given that the only type of sex I'd had at that time was manual sex five weeks after my last period. Realistically this was probably caused by stress as I'd just moved away to University, and pretty much every other girl I asked said that she'd also had an unusually long cycle.

I'm aware that 'spotting' can occur at first when you take hormonal contraceptives, but hadn't expected to bleed this much for this long. I'm not especially enjoying bleeding all the time but I'm not too fond of the idea of not bleeding at all either. Basically I'd like to ask if this level/duration of bleeding is 'normal' and if in your opinion it's likely to stop soon or if I should go to the medical center to possibly try to get the prescription changed.

Thanks.