Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Safer Sex & Birth Control » Getting Birth Control from Planned Parenthood

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Getting Birth Control from Planned Parenthood
poppyseed
Activist
Member # 41477

Icon 1 posted      Profile for poppyseed     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So I have made an appointment at my local planned parenthood because I'm interested in getting birth control, and this is my first time. They told me that I would need a full examination and I am trying to get pricing from them and they said it ranged from $70-$150 because I told them I would not have any insurance. Is this the customary price range? And this isn't even including the actual birth control pills does it? What can I also expect out of this examination? I'm nervous but I want to get birth control and I'm wondering if I'll have to keep going back to the clinic for check-ups and all of that. Obviously my parents do not know about me getting birth control because they would not approve, but I want to be safe. Please share some advice thank youu
Posts: 95 | From: US | Registered: Dec 2008  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Heather
Executive Director & Founder
Member # 3

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Heather     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
That is fairly typical pricing for PP in my experience/knowledge. That's also still very inexpensive for a full exam with STI tests anywhere.