Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sex Basics and Sexual Health » Can he?

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Can he?
kayanadanielle_08
Neophyte
Member # 15029

Icon 1 posted      Profile for kayanadanielle_08     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My bf is 18 and I am 14 can anyone press charges or can our mothers only do it? Just wondering!

------------------
Kayana


Posts: 21 | From: Woodville,Alabama,United States | Registered: Oct 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
BruinDan
Activist
Member # 3072

Icon 3 posted      Profile for BruinDan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Anyone can, and they often will. You're talking about second-degree rape here, which is enough to send your boyfriend to jail, get you probation, and give your boyfriend "the gift that keeps on giving." He'll have to register as a sex offender on his birthday for the rest of his days. Sound worth it? Think hard...

------------------
BruinDan, "Number Three," PHOM

Beware the naked man who offereth you his pants.


Posts: 2727 | Registered: Mar 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
somewhatanonymous
Activist
Member # 3820

Icon 1 posted      Profile for somewhatanonymous     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
www.AgeOfConsent.com

"Sexual Assault Laws of Alabama

13A-6-61. Rape in the first degree

A male commits the crime of rape in the first degree if:

He engages in sexual intercourse with a female by forcible compulsion; or He engages in sexual intercourse with a female who is incapable of consent by reason of being physically helpless or mentally incapacitated; or He, being 16 years or older, engages in sexual intercourse with a female who is less than 12 years old.

13A-6-62. Rape in the second degree

A male commits the crime of rape in the second degree if :

Being 16 years old or older, he engages in sexual intercourse with a female less than 16 and more than 12 years old; provided, however, he is at least two years older than the female.

He engages in sexual intercourse with a female who is incapable of consent by reason of being mentally defective."

[This message has been edited by somewhatanonymous (edited 11-06-2003).]


Posts: 141 | From: Seattle, WA, USA | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
logic_grrl
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 8067

Icon 1 posted      Profile for logic_grrl     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Just to clarify, there's no law against the two of you dating - as long as you're not engaging in any sexual activity.

If you're not engaging in any sexual activity together, it's perfectly legal for you to date, hang out, and otherwise be a "couple".


Posts: 6944 | From: UK | Registered: May 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
   

  New Poll   Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | Get the Whole Story! Go Home to SCARLETEEN: Sex Ed for the Real World | Privacy Statement

Copyright 1998, 2014 Heather Corinna/Scarleteen
Scarleteen.com: Providing comprehensive sex education online to teens and young adults worldwide since 1998

Information on this site is provided for educational purposes. It is not meant to and cannot substitute for advice or care provided by an in-person medical professional. The information contained herein is not meant to be used to diagnose or treat a health problem or disease, or for prescribing any medication. You should always consult your own healthcare provider if you have a health problem or medical condition.

Powered by UBB.classic™ 6.7.3