Donate Now
We've Moved! Check out our new boards.
  New Poll  
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Scarleteen Boards: 2000 - 2014 (Archive) » SCARLETEEN CENTRAL » Sex Basics and Sexual Health » The Pill and Timing

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: The Pill and Timing
BCLauren
Neophyte
Member # 13256

Icon 7 posted      Profile for BCLauren     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well, I'm going to the doc next month and am going to start taking oral contraceptives. I have a question: how do you choose what time will be their "time" to take the pill? Since it's summer and I'm a college student, I'm worried that a time I set during the summer will not work out when I get back to school. To make things more confusing, I may be spending a month in Finland, which is a 6 or 7 hour time difference. If I wanted to take the pill with breakfast while in the US, I'd have to get up in the middle of the night to keep on schedule in Finland. Maybe the patch-style birth control is a better option? I'm just wondering how people here have figured out a good schedule!

Lauren

Posts: 4 | From: USA | Registered: May 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
alaska
Scarleteen Volunteer
Member # 1896

Icon 1 posted      Profile for alaska     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Look at how you spend your time, and take it from there.
Years ago, when I first started the pill, I decided that 6pm would be a good time for me. - I'd usually be home, or travelling home. For me, that time made sense because it would be more consistent than if I said I'd take it when I brush my teeth in the morning or evening (which many gals I know do), because those times change during the week.

Just see what fits for yourself.

Regarding the time change in Finland: discuss this with your doc.